“Ich habe genug” but never enough Bach!” November 21, 2010

Sunday 21 November 2010, 4:00 pm

Main Sanctuary
Roswell Presbyterian Church
755 Mimosa Boulevard
Roswell, GA 30075
770 993-6316

Directions (PDF format)

The concert’s title, “Ich habe genug,” but never enough Bach! refers to the opening line of Bach’s Cantata 82, which translates “I have enough, I have my Savior, the hope of the faithful.”

Cantata 82a with Soprano Arietha Lockhart
Suite for Solo Cello in D minor
Concerti for One, Two and Three Harpsichords

Arrive before 3:30 to hear Daniel Pyle, music instructor at Clayton State University, give an engaging and illuminating pre-concert lecture about the music.

Celebrated Atlanta soprano soloist Arietha Lockhart will sing Cantata 82, one of Bach’s best-loved vocal works. Lockhart, long known as a soloist in Christmas with Robert Shaw concerts with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Chorus, is also remembered for her voice in the 1996 Olympic Games opening ceremony.

Brent Wissick will perform a perennial favorite, Bach’s enthralling Suite in D minor for solo cello.

In addition to the inspirational theme, the concert features three instrumental concertos, culminating in a rarely-heard, dazzling showpiece for three harpsichords and strings that J. S. Bach performed with his sons W. F. and C. P. E. Bach. Harpsichordist Daniel Pyle will be joined by Michael Bauer and Peter Dewitt. “I call it the Grand Prix of keyboards,” says Wheat Williams, music copyist and volunteer. “It’s a dizzying display of spirited shredding by three virtuosos that would leave today’s rock guitarists in awe. You won’t believe how many notes they can pack into 16 exuberant minutes.”

Admission Free–Donations Requested.

Full Program:
Concerto for Harpsichord, Two Recorders and Strings in F, BWV 1057
Catherine Bull and Douglas Leonard, recorders, and Daniel Pyle, harpsichord

Suite in D minor, BWV 1008
Brent Wissick, cello

Concerto for Two Harpsichords and Strings in C minor, BWV 1060
Peter Dewitt and Daniel Pyle

Cantata 82, “Ich habe genug” for Soprano, Flute and Orchestra, BWV 82a
Arietha Lockhart, soprano, and Catherine Bull, flute

Concerto for Three Harpsichords and Strings in C, BWV 1064
Michael Bauer, Peter Dewitt and Daniel Pyle